Just a note to share my thoughts of July…..

So I really want my allotment to be full of:

1. things that are expensive to buy (purple sprouting, asparagus, brukale)

2. that are so gorgeous straight out the ground or off the plant (new potatoes, French beans, tomatoes, raspberries and strawberries) 

3. and the unusual – asparagus peas, kohl rabi, sapphire, coloured old fashioned beetroot and white strawberries.

I was given bean and broad bean plants and I’ve just sat and enjoyed a plateful of lovely green beans. I’m growing celeriac and butternut, courgette and pumpkin. Even have tomatoes in the ground, rainbow chard and garlic (be them small) 

😀 This season I have got all these things but not in abundance….so as each year goes by I realise there is an art to growing fruit and veg. 

I must start recording the seeds and which ones grow well like my bargain radish from Lidl. 

New early potatoes did not get watered enough so not vey swollen at all although they taste yummy. My Jerusalem artichoke are constantly looking for water as I put them in a container to stop them from spreading. 

I am excited about setting up my asparagus bed and hope it works.


This season I did not grow corn and my carrots were not very successful – but when you write it all down, you realise what a great season so far you have had. 
 I do have an advantage this next season as now I have a greenhouse. So as we come into the abundance season I have made strawberry jam, gooseberry jam,  roasted tomato chutney and green bean chutney already…..

❤️ I LOVE HAVING AND ALLOTMENT ❤️ and love the people I have met. I have organised social bits where we now have a pizza oven on site and a picnic bench to sit and enjoy the people with similar interests.  I can’t wait to share produce where I have too much, with the local food bank. 👍🌱👍

One thought on “Just a note to share my thoughts of July…..

Leave a Reply

