Green manure

green manure (2)

I have noticed lots of plots with things growing very similar to this – after asking around I found out it is green manure.  (This is mustard)

So this is my New Years journey – I am going to find out about green manures to help with weed control and digging in goodness into my ground. A friend suggested that my crops may not have been so fantastic (although I have had some cracking produce, I have had some mishaps) is down to the ground.

I went out of my way to get excited about buying horse poo! not just any horse poo but 3 year old horse poo! I heard the ground smile as it was scattered over the patch where my unsuccessful peas once were. I noticed that where the manure is on the bed there were not weeds growing there either but what I did see was an abundance of worms – big juicy worms which were being watched by the buzzard chick lingering around.  Having been to an organic garden recently and they had courgettes growing in amongst green manure.

They say…. Green manures are fast-growing plants sown to cover bare soil. Often used in the vegetable garden, their foliage smothers weeds and their roots prevent soil erosion. When dug into the ground while still green, they return valuable nutrients to the soil and improve soil structure.  So there you go ….. I’m going green at my allotment next winter for sure.  Seems to control the weeds and gives goodness into the ground – just need to ensure I plant it well in advance so it does what it says it does. Happy  growing.

Leave a Reply

